PDA

View Full Version : Comparing small wide angle lenses

Brian Schall
11-Feb-2004, 12:36
I just bought a Busch Pressman D to get into large format photography. I do mainly B&W nature, printing up to 16x20. I'm needing a wide angle lens for my type of photography. I've read alot about the Angulon 90mm. It barely covers 4x5, no real movements, starts losing sharpness at the edges, but overall highly recommended for the price. I would like some ability to use front tilt to maintain perspective and increase DOF. I'm thinking of composing and shooting using the 3 1/4 x 4 1/4 lines on the ground glass if needed.

How do the Optar/Wollensack WA 90mm's, the Ektar WF 100mm (I figure the WF 80mm will have limited coverage) compare with the Angulon? Are their other alternatives?

Brian

Mark Sampson
11-Feb-2004, 13:22
The Wide-Field Ektars are real sweetheart lenses. I have no experience with the 100mm but if it's like the 135 and the 250 it should suit you very well. Usual caveats apply- clean glass, working shutter, etc. Many people don't care for the Flash Supermatic shutter the lens is mounted in, but mine has been trouble-free since a CLA 10+ years ago. (There is lots of lens comparison data on this site if you hunt around.)

Jim Galli
11-Feb-2004, 13:27
Brian, I think Chris Perez and Kerry Thalmann's lens test page (http://www.hevanet.com/cperez/testing.html) is a fabulous tool for photographers. Lots of good info there regarding your question. Also Kerry talks at length about smaller WA choices in his home page which I don't have the link for just now. One other choice is the little Congo WF f6.3 90mm. I've got a 90 WA Optar going up on ebay later this eve. The resolution numbers for those are VERY acceptable. My keeper/user is the f6.8 Calumet WII (Grandagon). It's a bit larger and heavier, about 3 times the price, but wider.

Nick Morris
11-Feb-2004, 13:59