PDA

View Full Version : camera for shooting pola/fuji-roids

andreios
10-Jul-2012, 23:17
Hi all,
for long time I've been wanting to try shooting polaroid and fuji instant films - in the larger, 4x5 size. the problem is, I do not own a 4x5 camera(and don't think I want to buy in any near future). Those 5x7 negatives from my Sinar are so beautiful...
Anyway...
What would be the simplest (and cheapest) way to a camera that would allow me to shoot 4x5 instant film? Any of old polaroid (folding) cameras worth looking into? Which model? For what money? Or would be best to get a polaroid holder, a Super Angulon and a build a DIY point and shoot? Or get myself a speed graphic? (BTW, are pola backs attachable to old speeds and crowns?)
Forgive me these dumb questions, but I am completely new to Polaroids, they seem to be quite rare in these parts of the planet...

Thank you for any suggestions!

vinny
11-Jul-2012, 06:20
Search 4x5 instant film.
It's almost gone. Not being produced in the 100 asa varieties (for the u.s. Anyway).

andreios
11-Jul-2012, 12:39
That IS bad news.. Didn't know it's that tragic with 4x5 instant film.. Pointless question now.. Or it should be reformulated to smaller format - 3.25 x 4.25 that is and Land Cameras?

jp
11-Jul-2012, 17:09
You want something with a graflex or equivalent back. Some speed graphic and most crown graphics have it. Look for the the chrome arms above and below the groundglass for the type of back. There are fuji backs for the 4x5 and the slightly smaller and more available film.

rdenney
11-Jul-2012, 18:11
You want something with a graflex or equivalent back.

You mean a "Graflok" back.

Old Polaroid 405 holders will also work with that Graphic camera, and it uses the still-available quarter-plate Fujiroid film.