PDA

View Full Version : Longevity of fixer, again...

domenico Foschi
9-Feb-2004, 17:13
Only a few days ago, somebody posted a thread on the longevity of fixer , and he specified that according to manufacturer direction a liter of fixer would be enough for 2 1/2 sheets of 8 x 10 .
I freaked out .... I change my 1/2 liter of solution for 4 x 5 after fixing 20 sheets, and discard 1 liter of diluted fixer only after having processed 10 sheets of 8 x 10 .
I have never worried because the clearing time is extremely acceptable after which i leave the film in the bath for 2 1/2 times the clearing stage .
I have been developing for twenty years now and i have not experienced any problem of sort with my negatives . It seems a little too on the "manufacturer side " to waste so much fixer .
Any input ?
<href="http://www.dfoschisite.com">

Mike Troxell
9-Feb-2004, 17:28
I 'm not sure if you are thinking about the question I posted or another one similar to it. I said that some manufacturers normally say 1 liter of fixer is enough for 15 - 20 36 exp rolls of 35mm and asked how many sheets of 8x10 that would be equal to.

The answers I got stated that 1 36 exp roll of 35mm is roughly equal to 1 8x10 sheet of film OR 4 4x5 films in surface area.

Michael Kadillak
9-Feb-2004, 18:19
And I think that for simple self serving reasons the film and chemical manufacturers would love to convince you that you need to buy the equivelant of four liters of fixer every week of the year.