PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with a Graflex..

Magua
2-Jul-2012, 02:48
Hello. This is my first time posting. I have a little experience with film, only having taken a photography class with 35mm B&W film cameras years ago.

I have a R.B. Graflex Series B 4x5 camera that I inherited from my great-grandfather. It has a Cut Film Magazine attached to the camera. There is also a Graflex Film Pack Adapter. I think the film pack adapter still has film in it. There are tabs 8,9,10,11,12 sticking out the side; Kodak Super-XX. From what I read on the internet, this type of film-pack had been discontinued long ago. I think the Cut Film magazine might have film in it as well. When I lift the small door, I can see the number "9" behind the red window.

I am feeling a bit enthusiastic about this camera and the film it might contain. The idea of a 4" x 5" image "sensor", compared to the tiny CCD in digital cameras sounds overwhelming. I am thinking of developing the film in it and trying to use this camera. So, I have a few questions, maybe someone could help me out.

After 45+ years of sitting around, is it possible to develop the film that is in the camera and holder? It would be awesome to develop film that was taken by my great-grandfather so many years ago. I've never worked with this type of film and camera. I do not know how to open the film pack or develop it.

Could the unexposed films 8,9,10,11,12 be used to take photographs today and still produce an image?

If I decide to use this camera, can anyone recommend how I should go about it, and what would the estimated costs be? I guess that I would need a different back to hold film. I would have to invest in film, darkroom equipment, chemicals, etc.

Thanks for any guidance and replies!

Bill_1856
2-Jul-2012, 03:20
The cut film magazine (known in the trade as a "bag-mag") is still one of the best ways to use a 4x5 camera,(provided the leather part hasn't rotted).