PDA

View Full Version : Should I take the wallet out for a 8x10 Burke and James field camera ?

chopsteeks
17-Jun-2012, 06:58
Run into a vintage Burke and James 8x10 field camera. Asking price is $100.00. Bellows looks great, has the 8x10 ground glass. No lens board though. Is this an ok buy ?

Any advice on what else to inspect with this camera as I have very little knowledge of this model.

Thanks.

Brian Ellis
17-Jun-2012, 07:05
Either the seller is ignorant or there are some problems with the camera. B&J cameras weren't the best made but an 8x10 field in good shape should sell for much more than $100, I'd guess $600 at a minimum.

Alan Gales
17-Jun-2012, 07:21
If it's in good shape it's a steal like Brian says.

cdholden
17-Jun-2012, 07:39
Check the corners and folds in the bellows to look for pinholes. Take it in a darkroom and run a bright flashlight all around, pointing out, to find the holes easier.
Make sure everything locks down tight as it should, and everything moves as it should.

Ari
17-Jun-2012, 07:41
Buy! Buy!
Why don't I ever find deals like this?
If you can try before you buy, that would be preferable.
It's only $100, but still, it's $100.

ic-racer
17-Jun-2012, 07:42
Could be an excellent deal. However, keep your wallet out. Your first batch of film is likely to cost as much as the camera :)

MIke Sherck
17-Jun-2012, 08:12
That's a very good price for a working 8x10 B&J. If the bellows aren't falling apart, that is! (Hint: they make duct tape in red... that's held my 5x7 B&J's bellows together for the past couple of years. I'll get around to making a new bellows one of these decades...)

Oh, and lens boards for this camera are very easy to make.

Mike

evan clarke
17-Jun-2012, 08:12
More than the camera..and holders!

IanG
17-Jun-2012, 08:13
If you don't want it at $100 then someone else will :D I would except potsge to the UK would add rather a lot.

Lens boards are easy to make, in fact I'm about to make some later today for a LF reflex camera.