PDA

View Full Version : Processing Problems

nray
11-Jun-2012, 12:54
I just started working in my homemade darkroom in the basement developing 4x5 T-Max 400. Using HC-110 and TF-4 Archival Fix.

- Water bath 2 min.
- Develop time:have tried 5.5 -7 min. @72 degrees.
- Water stop bath.
- Fixer 5 minutes.

Most all have come out REALLY thin. Not until I scan do I see something is there. Film expiration on box is 6/2012. HC-110 is about 2 years old now.

Just frustrated. I tried extra developing time today with little difference.

I keep thinking it has to be something simple I am not doing or neglecting. I am a novice at this, just trying to get into black and white. Last year I developed successfully at a rented out darkroom using the same chemicals.

My homemade darkroom consists of a plastic tub about 3' long. In it I have a holder for 4 plastic trays. At the bottom of the tub I bought a 50w fish tank heater. Works well keeping the temps all the same. Just the developing that sucks.

There was one exception. When I first started doing this a few weeks ago, I had two that came out great. Ever since then, crap.

Just venting. Any help or suggestions appreciated.

Norm

Ari
11-Jun-2012, 12:57
Your developer may be getting exhausted.
Get a new bottle and compare the results before you toss the old one.

photobymike
11-Jun-2012, 14:39