PDA

View Full Version : Ilex Shutter or Luc type Shutter for my 19" Apo Artar

John Fink Jr.
6-Jun-2012, 13:06
I am looking to put a shutter on my 19" Goerz RD Apo Artar. I'm new to this and as I learn I realize there are a number of ways to accomplish this.
I realize that I get different speeds and setting or lack there of with the various shutters out there. My question is this.

Is an Ilex Universal #5 the easiest way to mount the lens using an adapter? Does this mean I am screwing the lens into the adapter and then it into the shutter?

Also, Is the LUC shutter (I believe I need a No. 6) as easy as the above only mounted on the front of the barrel of the lens (without the adapter)?

Anyone have either one:-)?

Thanks for your help and forgive the rudimentary questions.

cdholden
6-Jun-2012, 14:10
Some of later Red Dot versions were offered in barrel and Ilex #4 options, but I don't believe these will screw into just any Ilex 4. I have the Red Dot version in barrel. I know it's interchangeable with the elements from one that's already in Ilex #4. I have also noticed that it does not screw into other examples of Ilex #4 shutters I've had in the past. Some have paid to have these custom mounted into a Copal 3.
Packard shutters may be your least expensive option unless you have the machining tools and skills.

John Fink Jr.
7-Jun-2012, 08:15
SK Grimes suggests a Ilex #5 shutter. I know others have commented on having their's in a #4 as well.
My understanding is that the front threads on the shutter can then take a specifically made adapter screwed into the front with the lens in the front.
SK Grimes is putting my 14" into a copal 3 right now, so I'm trying to avoid another expense such as that with the 19".

cdholden
7-Jun-2012, 08:48
With the larger Ilex #5, it gives them more space to machine an adapter. An adapter removes the risk of damage. Fitting it into a #4 will probably require machining the lens itself.

c.d.ewen
7-Jun-2012, 10:02