PDA

View Full Version : New to LF, seeking advice on antique 8x10

AngelinaM
2-Jun-2012, 16:17

Hello, crossposting here as recommended by members of another /p/hotography board. I am an absolute beginner (digital kid) but would thoroughly appreciate any advice and resources y'all could throw my way, and am dedicated to learning how to operate this now that it is within my grasp!

I work at this high-end antique/vintage store, and we recently got this 30s/40s 8x10 LF camera in. The guy we got it from (reputable dealer who we buy from frequently) said it was working as recently as last year with minimal light leaks. The owners of the store said I could have the camera free of charge provided I use it to shoot some ads for them first. whoopee.

I've googled around extensively, but there's so much historical stuff rather than any operational information. I'm not very experienced with film, but I figure this would be a great a time as any to learn.

Does anyone have advice on operating and maintaining a camera like this? Any advice on where to get film, and what kind would be best? Resources on how to shoot with antique large format cameras? Anything is appreciated.

The front element. Ilex Paragon Anastigmat, F4.5, Series S, made in Rochester

Light meter. Others have advised I should get a new one because the selenium may have degraded.

Jay DeFehr
2-Jun-2012, 16:35
Score! Others will chime in with accurate info, but it looks to me like a Burke and James monorail view camera, and that's a very nice lens, too! You need a film holder (or several), and you're in business! There are lots of detailed guides for operating a camera like this, but the broad strokes are:

load film into holder in complete darkness
open lens shutter
focus by racking the front or back forward or backwards, as necessary
close lens shutter
set aperture and shutter speed and cock shutter
insert film holder
remove film holder dark slide
release shutter
replace film holder dark slide