PDA

View Full Version : Tips for making a painted backdrop

Tim Meisburger
1-Jun-2012, 20:44
I see a lot used in portraits and still lifes, and have seen reference to how easy they are to make with a bed sheet and a can of paint. I'm a fair mechanic, but I'm not really artistic. Can anyone describe how to do this in simple terms? I, and I am sure other, would appreciate it.

Tim

RichardSperry
1-Jun-2012, 21:03
Don't use a bed sheet.

Buy a white muslin 10x20 for about $30 or 40 from Amazon.

You can dye it with Rit dye, for about $6 bucks. Just boil it in a big pot with a cup of salt until the dye is all absorbed. Or tie dye it in a bucket. Or paint it if you like, it gets hard if you do that.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_2_12?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=white+muslin+backdrop+10x20&sprefix=white+muslin%2Caps%2C512

John Kasaian
1-Jun-2012, 21:05
I read in an old shutterbug it was best to use a seamless painters canvas drop cloth and RIT fabric dyes. IIRC Francis Schulz wrote the article.

cdholden
2-Jun-2012, 08:06
CJBroadbent posted some time back on how he makes his backdrops.
While he uses them in the many still life shots he shares on this forum, I think they would work well for portraits also.

jon.oman
2-Jun-2012, 08:09
I never thought of using Rit dye.....

cjbroadbent
2-Jun-2012, 10:19
Often the problem is wrinkles.
If you are going to roll it up, you'll need Rosco paint and you might as well go for Rosco canvas. No crackle, no wrinkle.

Tight budget? The double bed-sheet thing stapled to a DIY 2x4 stretcher is cheap, wrinkle-less and lasts forever.

My way, after a few years of screw-ups.
Lay a room-size plastic sheet on the floor (to keep it clean). Lay down the frame and staple the bed-sheet. Prepare two buckets of diluted white wall paint. Mix a tube of aniline black into one bucket.