PDA

View Full Version : Learning processing with the aid of a densitometer

swmcl
28-May-2012, 01:40
Hi all,

I've just purchased some FP4+ with also some Pyrocat HD. I'm new to testing and I would like some pointers.

Equipment:
Jobo Expert 3006 drums.
4x5 sheets of FP4+
pyrocat HD
TF5 fixer
water stop
5 mins pre-soak (lots of black inky water at the end which scared me quite a bit!)
4 mins in fixer
demineralised water all round
big plastic tub in which I have an aquarium heater and aquarium water pump
digital thermometer
no sulphites
4 to 6 rpm constant rotation in about 2 or 3 inches of water at 20C.

I've done two tests now to determine development time @ 20C.

The first was for 8:15 mins (80 ISO) and the second was 8:45 mins (64 ISO). The results are not that different.

I have a film base + fog of 0.1 and 0.11 on the 361T.
The Zone 1 exposure is 0.17 and 0.18.
Zone 5 exposure is 0.6 and 0.61.
Zone 7 is 0.87 and 0.86.

Q1. Do these figures sound right ? Its my first ever try at using the densitometer.
Q2. What am I able to expect ? Can I think that if I increase the development time that my negatives can approach a maximum density of some sort ? I read somewhere that FP4 can achieve 3.2 density ?! I'm a long way from that ! I'm thinking that I should increase development until Zone 5 gives me 0.72 or so on the densitometer. Is this a correct goal ? I'm interprreting an Ansel Adams graph in The Negative for this assumption...

I'm not going to be chemically printing in a hurry. The only option I can see is for a digital workflow from here on in.

My impressions of my work from before the densitometer is that I've not had very contrasty negs. The second test included a Zone 11 shot with a density of 1.3. Still nowhere near any 2 or 3 ...

At this stage I'm thinking of another test at 64 ISO and I'll develop for 11 minutes.

Advice and energy keenly sought !

Steve

erie patsellis
28-May-2012, 08:26