PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Identifying Lens

rusackson
25-May-2012, 12:34
I found an Ansco Studio camera with all the standards in great shape on Craigslist a few weeks ago for 300$. Thanks to Eddie Gunks for the best info & video about the Ansco studio camera I found on YouTube. I am new to large format photography but have long been seduced by Wet Plate photography. I determined this might be a proper camera to introduce myself to the process with. I am unable to determine the maker and year of the lens. Here is a photo gallery: http://flic.kr/s/aHsjzBAARy

The lens has this engraved into the barrel:
REGAL
Extra Rapid Portrait
f - 4
6 1/2 x 8 1/2
Martin G. Good
Chicago

I have come across American Regal as a lens maker name but that is the end of the trail. I understand that Martin G. Good was a photography supply house at the turn of the 1900th century and that lenses were branded as such. The lens has the numbers 1-3 engraved on the outer lens. I believe this adjusts the softness. The aperture iris functions perfectly. The outmost lens is a little banged up and I am going to have an excellent local machinist turn it out and chase all the threads. The stop numbers were painted over to make them more visible. F-Stops range from 1-32 which I understand equates to 4-22. Any info about the lens or advice for it's application for wet plate is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

cdholden
25-May-2012, 12:43
More detailed photos of the inscription on the lens may be of help. B&L and Wollensak were known to produce lenses for others to rebrand. Others may have also.
The words "extra rapid" tell me it's a Rapid Rectilinear and should easily cover whole plate or smaller. For $300, you have a great starter kit at a great price. Go get the chemicals and pour some plates!

rusackson
25-May-2012, 12:58
Here is a photo gallery with detailed images: http://flic.kr/s/aHsjzBAARy

Steven Tribe
25-May-2012, 15:07