PDA

View Full Version : Need help with starting to develop my own film.

paul stimac
25-Jan-2004, 23:42
I’m starting to do my own processing at home. I have paid labs up to this point. I have some darkroom experience but it’s always been either in a class darkroom or someone else’s darkroom where the chemicals where just there.

Now I have to decide what to use. There are so many options that it’s making my head spin. 10+ different film choices, 20+ different developer choices and 20+ different paper choices - that's 4000+ possible combinations.

I’m using ilford hp4 sheet film. I also shoot tmax 100. Will probably switch to arista (same as ilford hp4?) because it the cheapest I can find. I'm not attached to any specific film though. I will tank process and contact print. I eventually want to use azo paper – I like the prints I’ve seen made with it – unless someone knows of something better? Should I dive into azo or warm up with some other paper?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated,

Paul

phil sweeney
26-Jan-2004, 06:16
For film you might want to look at the photowarehouse film. Its about $1 less per sheet than FP4 in 8 x 10 size and supposedly it is FP4. I just got some for 7 x 17 but want to try it for 8 x 10 also and get a first-hand comparison to FP4 since that is my preferred film. I use AZO for contact printing. If you tailor your negs to AZO you could print alt processes also. PyrocatHD (developer) is very popular these days and inexpensive to use.

Mark_3632
26-Jan-2004, 08:39
you will get a lot of information here, but until you are used to the process stick with what you know. Good ol' D76 or ilfosol is a good place to start until you get used to doing this on your own because it is pretty cheap. Warm up with regular paper. AZO is too expensive IMO to jump in with.