PDA

View Full Version : Tripod head for Toyo 810 - sinar pan tilt or ...?

ambroz
19-May-2012, 06:33
I am new to 8x10. I have a heavy 8x10 camera (Toyo 810M), 7 kg. I'm working with 300 and 600mm lens. I'd like to have as sturdy as possible platform. Now I screw the camera directly to the tripod plate of my old Manfrotto, but I need something like pan tilt head.

Is Sinar pan tilt head strong enough for this camera?

Another option is Ries (double) tilt head, but it doesn't have pan.

I was also looking at Gitzo low profile head G1570. It is specified for 10 kg, is it enough?

Are there any other solid and not too heavy solutions? What would you reccomend? I am not fan of ballheads.

Ambroz

Michael Kadillak
19-May-2012, 07:36
I have the identical camera and Bogen 410 tripod and use the 229 Super Pro with the quick release plate and it does the job exceptionally well. The for and aft visual bubble levels along with the the stability it is just great. Right now it is on sale at B&H. I had to look at the model because I have the older 3039 model but they are the same unit.

Peter De Smidt
19-May-2012, 07:36
I'm a big fan of the Sinar head with Sinar cameras, but in this instance, I'd go with the G1570. I have an earlier version which I've used with 8x10 cameras. It worked fine.

Ari
19-May-2012, 09:59
I use the Manfrotto 229 Super Pro head for my 8x10. I found an old stock 4x4 inch (100x100mm) Manfrotto plate that supports the camera better than the hexagon plate. The head is very sturdy and holds the camera rock steady.

+1

I have the identical camera and Bogen 410 tripod and use the 229 Super Pro with the quick release plate and it does the job exceptionally well. The for and aft visual bubble levels along with the the stability it is just great. Right now it is on sale at B&H. I had to look at the model because I have the older 3039 model but they are the same unit.

+1