PDA

View Full Version : Bought a new lens and I'm worried.

Super8
12-May-2012, 20:30
hi guys,

i bought a brand new Schender 120mm lens and it has only what I can describe as a "speck" in the lens. Neither wiping the front of the lens or the back of the lens removes the speck. It's as if the speck is inside the glass.

i haven't shot with the lens yet and probably won't anytime soon due to demands of day job. I am brand new to LF and I'm wondering if I have anything to worry about with this speck.

thank you for your answers in advance.

Bill_1856
12-May-2012, 20:34
It probably won't affect the image at all, but if I bought a NEW lens (at what they cost!) and wasn't 100% happy with it, then back it would go for exchange. Even if you are convinced that it doesn't matter, it will get to you just a little even if you own it for years. It ain't worth it.

Leonard Evens
12-May-2012, 20:58
I agree that it probably won't make any detectable difference, but you do have grounds for returning the lens should you want to.

The speck by itself will at worst increase flare very slightly, but it could indicate other damage to the lens. Try some careful tests. If the lens seems to be performing well, you can probably ignore it.

Marc B.
12-May-2012, 21:23
Hope this isn't early onset of 'Schneider-itis.'
A 'speck.'...there's a great deal of variance in peoples definition to the word, speck.
If the speck is easily visible to the naked eye without shining a light into the lens...I might think about sending it back.
However, if the speck can only be seen under close scrutiny...illumination and magnification...probably not a big deal.

Super8
12-May-2012, 21:51
well doing a search under "Scheneder-itis" on this forum and reading the posts, it kinda sounds like what I see in my lens: a tiny white spec

Two23
12-May-2012, 23:50