PDA

View Full Version : How and why did my Linhof Master develop cracks in the bellows?

Vick Ko
26-Apr-2012, 11:07
I have a Linhof Technika Master.

The bellows has developed cracks on the outer black surface. I do not think they are light leaks, and are only cosmetic.

What caused the cracks? I live in Canada and stored the camera closed, at normal room temperature and normal humidity, perhaps only drier humidity through winter.

See the photo for details.

Has this happened to your Linhof?

Bob Salomon
26-Apr-2012, 11:36
Why not ask Mike at Blazes? It happens with age over time, can happen when a camera is left folded closed for a long time, can happen with environment. The first Master Technika was made in Sept. of 1972. That makes it almost 40 years old! How old is yours?

E. von Hoegh
26-Apr-2012, 11:40
My ST IV was made in '59. It has the original bellows, which are in excellent condition.

Frank Petronio
26-Apr-2012, 12:05
I've seen it happen with several Linhofs. Definitely kills the resale value.

Bill_1856
26-Apr-2012, 12:49
My Tech IV is on its third bellows. Lightly used, stored in folded postion, cool temps, medium humidity. I blaned it on dry rot, but it could be a problem in tanning such thin leather. Judging by the forums, it's a (relatively) common problem.
I've always contended that the bellows is the only weak part of a virtually bulletproof design. I don't understand why Linhof haven't made it with interchangable bellows.

Bob Salomon
26-Apr-2012, 13:02
Bill,

The bellows on a Master Technika allows movements, front and back, with lenses as short as 35mm and as long as the bellows and rails are. Why would the camera need an interchangeable bellows?

Oren Grad
26-Apr-2012, 13:19
Why would the camera need an interchangeable bellows?