PDA

View Full Version : New to Large Format- what lens to get?

Dr_Rocks
25-Apr-2012, 17:21
Hi all,

I am new to LF (and film), and just got into it about a month ago. I have a Toyo 4x5 monorail that I borrowed from a friend, which has a xenar 150mm lens. After using it for a while, I sprung for a Zone VI wooden field camera (Although, I think it's one of the older rebranded Wista's, I'm not sure...) that came with a Caltar II 210mm lens. I really like this new camera, but was thinking of getting a wider lens for it. I plan on shooting a lot this summer in Isle Royale and Alaska, and will have to pack everything with me, so weight is at least a consideration in lens choice. I was thinking of something around 90mm, but I'm really not sure, and wanted to ask for suggestions. Budget is the main consideration, I don't know that I would want to spend much more than $300 on the lens.

Thanks!

-Chris

BrianShaw
25-Apr-2012, 17:31
There was a recent thread on 135 vs. 150. Read that if you haven't already. Then buy one. There are plenty of Schneider or Rodenstok f-5.6 lenses out there that will be within your price range.

Leigh
25-Apr-2012, 17:40
KEH currently has a large assortment of LF lenses including 90mm. http://www.keh.com

They have a couple of single-coated Fujinon SW 90/8 in Seiko shutters in your price range,
and a multi-coated version in a Copal shutter for a bit more.

The way you tell the type of coating on the Fujinon lenses is the location of the labeling on the front.
The single-coated lenses have lettering on the front element retaining ring, while
the multi-coated lenses have the lettering on the outside of the barrel.

- Leigh

archphotofisher
25-Apr-2012, 17:43