PDA

View Full Version : POLL: How many users shoot large format film professionally?

SpeedGraphicMan
19-Apr-2012, 14:53
I was just wondering how many "pros" shoot large format film?

If so does it usually involve printing directly from the neg or scanning?

Helen Bach
19-Apr-2012, 15:16
Yes, 4x5 E100G which is scanned to CMYK on an IQsmart2 for web offset printing. Nothing fancy.

Kimberly Anderson
19-Apr-2012, 15:33
Yes. 8x10, 4x10 and 5x7 b&w, usually scanned, but sometimes printed GSP's...then scanned.

eddy pula
19-Apr-2012, 16:56
I just sold some 4x5 marathon pictures to SPAFAX, I used the worlds junkiest epson 2450 I believe and spotted them like crazy only to have the graphic designer crop them like crazy and print them 1/12th page. I got the check the other day! I haven't even seen the magazine yet... but the checks in the mail to Krikor to fix a sick rollei!

Vaughn
19-Apr-2012, 19:03
I am a professional artist -- I sell prints using an 8x10 and alt processes. You probably are more referring to commercial artists/photographers, though.

Kirk Gittings
19-Apr-2012, 19:39
What kind of "pros" are you referring to? It means allot of different things to different people.

Do I shoot commercially with LF and film. No. Do I shoot LF film of say landscapes and sell them? Yes.

Helen Bach
20-Apr-2012, 01:17
Reading the other replies and Kirk's comments makes me realise that I should clarify: I use LF film commercially, hence the scanning / printing method. I also sell a little of my personal work, usually at an acceptably small loss. I know other photographers who also use LF film commercially, but they aren't members of this forum or any other that I know of. The guys who scan our stuff also scan for other clients such as Condé Nast, and they say that we are not completely alone.

Preston
20-Apr-2012, 10:02
Do I shoot commercially with LF and film. No. Do I shoot LF film of say landscapes and sell them? Yes.

Same, here.