PDA

View Full Version : 4x5" to 5x7"... is it worth changing?

Alberto Bregani
15-Apr-2012, 08:42
Hi All
I'm fine with my 4x5" shen hao
fresnel lens, red bellow, i everything i need ... Great camera

As a mountain photographer i think it is the right size for me: light, little, very functional, no big backpacks and so on
I already know 8x10" is not for me: Too much.. "everything"
But everytime i look at a 5x7" i think about a change

It is not so big, not so heavy it is functional too
I mean... i think ( I suppose) they are just little differences with my 4x5"...
The truth of the matter is that I think ( i suppose) it could be easier to compose thanks to a bigger ( and maybe brighter) GG
Yes i could have a bigger negativer, and this i think is one important point; itcould be a good think to consider

So,
Would you please give me almost 3 good reasons to change ( ...or to stay? )
also because a 5x7" isn't a cheap expense ...

Thank you very much
A

Joseph Dickerson
15-Apr-2012, 08:55
Hi Alberto,

To me the advantage of 5x7 over 4x5 seems slight. But the disadvantages are great. Need for a bigger enlarger, assuming you do your own printing, and possibly a different film processing set up. You'll also need to replace or at least supplement some of your lenses, acquire new holders etc. Of course, everything is going to weigh a bit more.

While 5x7 has a nice aspect ratio, 4x5 can be cropped if you desire.

I'm not sure at what enlargement size 5x7 starts to show improved quality, but I've printed pretty big with 4x5 without feeling that I needed a bigger negative.

I guess it all comes down to what you think you need. You could try renting/borrowing a 5x7 for a long weekend and see if it feels better to you than the 4x5. Or perhaps you could also add a 6x9 roll film back to your existing kit and see if you like the aspect ratio, 6x9 is about the same as 5x7. But you'd be hard pressed to find anything better than the Shen Hao!

JD

Greg Y
15-Apr-2012, 09:04