PDA

View Full Version : Color negatives from lab have worm-like marks after scanning?

Scott Page
7-Apr-2012, 20:46
I'm new to scanning. After getting back some 6x12 color negatives from a pro lab, I scanned them and began dust removal in Photoshop. I see a bunch of clearish, worm-like objects in many places on the film. They are large enough that I have to remove them to prevent them showing in the print.

Also, I recently used Sam's Club (a big mistake) for some 120 film, and the negatives had the same worm-like objects and a great many pock like marks all over the place. They do not look like dust marks. More like damage marks. I'm spending hours on a single negative to clean them up.

What causes these marks?

Old-N-Feeble
7-Apr-2012, 22:31
Maybe the lab isn't filtering their water. Maybe it's bacterial contamination. Please post some images.

Vascilli
7-Apr-2012, 23:58
Could be dust on the scanning surface or something like that? If it's in the same spot scan after scan then you know it's not the film.

Frank Petronio
8-Apr-2012, 04:07
Loupe the film first, but it sounds like a filthy scanner more than the film. Probably out of focus dust.

ic-racer
8-Apr-2012, 05:28
I'm new to scanning. After getting back some 6x12 color negatives from a pro lab, I scanned them and began dust removal in Photoshop. I see a bunch of clearish, worm-like objects in many places on the film.
Are you new to LF or MF photography? Unlike 35mm, there is no felt wiper for the film before the gate. Dust on the film will cause that. Make sure the film back and inside of the camera bellows are free from dust.

Worker 11811
14-Apr-2012, 10:32
I might also add that infrared cleaning can seem to cause as many artifacts as it removes.

It depends on the film used and the scanner settings.