PDA

View Full Version : My spetic tank is angry!!!

eddy pula
1-Apr-2012, 08:23
ALL POINTS BULLETIN... Apparently I've been party rocking my darkroom (Parents basement) too hard and now the septic system is backing up and poops be coming up. I'm washing my negatives for like 12 minutes, and I do it 3-4 times a day, my dad (a water engineer by the way) has banned me from developing, I got a back up sink right now but long term what can I do to cut down on my water consumption? I don't think its the silver in the fix, I dump it once or twice a month at the most. Any ideas?:mad:

eddy pula
1-Apr-2012, 08:24
Also I know septic+silver=bad news but I've been doing this for like 3 years no problem.

Vaughn
1-Apr-2012, 08:28
You do not need to use running water to wash negs and prints -- use standing water and exchange it with fresh. Take the used water outside and water the garden.

eddy pula
1-Apr-2012, 08:40
I heard that works for prints, never heard that about negs, good to know. Thanks for getting back to me Vaughn.

eddy pula
1-Apr-2012, 08:41
Also, sorry if this has been asked before a million times, but I just got back from a fight with the crapper, and i have no time to be an internet detective at the moment.

Preston
1-Apr-2012, 08:52
Your septic tank is full and needs to be pumped. You are also likely putting more water into it than can flow into the leech field, so the brown trout are going upstream to spawn.

Vaughn's suggestion is a good one. Not only will this reduce the load on your septic system, you'll be saving a lot of water.

--P

cdholden
1-Apr-2012, 08:52
If you can avoid dumping your used fixer down the drain, do so. I keep mine in two 5 gallon buckets and let them evaporate. I got a silvery recovery thing to extract the silver, but I haven't used it yet. As long as the water evaporates, it's just making room for more spent fixer. The silver is still in the buckets waiting for me to remove and cash in.

John Jarosz
1-Apr-2012, 09:28