PDA

View Full Version : Polarizer filter in B/W photography

Alberto Bregani
30-Mar-2012, 03:22
I'm a b/w mountain photographer, my philosophy is (imperatively) "less is more":
Therefore i'm not a filter addicted. In my bag i just have the basics: a yellow triad (y#8, #y/g11, y/o 15 ) and a ND triad (grad 0.45, grad 0.9, nd 0.9).
They are resing 4x4" Lee filters, so i'm not talking about a cheap choice...

Since i've never seriously considered a polarizer filter ( i just use it from time to time) i'd like to know your opinion/experience regarding this type of filter in b/w landscape photography. I'm now using a normal (quite good) circular b+w filter, but I'd like to buy the Lee one to align it to the Lee system. Since it costs about 300$ (filter + adapter) ...i'll be pleasured to read your thoughts before i'll go for it; for me the Lee could be more handy to manage (i could use it together with other filters....) as well as its higher quality

Thanks a lot :-)
Alberto

Ian David
30-Mar-2012, 03:49
I find that a polariser can be very useful in both B&W and colour photography - I like it especially for removing (or reducing) the reflected glare off water, leaves, etc.

Are you thinking of getting the square Lee polariser? If so, you should be aware that this may cause you problems if you try to use it at the same time as an ND grad. Unless they are able to rotate independently, the desired alignment of the grad and the desired alignment of the polariser may not be possible to achieve at the same time.

You might therefore be best to stick to a round screw-in polariser. A 105mm one will work well with the Lee system, although it is quite heavy! I doubt that the Lee round polarisers are much better than the B+W ones.

Ian

Alberto Bregani
30-Mar-2012, 04:30
Thank you David
i need these kind of validations ;)

Yes, i'm going (if I..) to buy the circular and not the square one since i've read about those problems, thank you