PDA

View Full Version : LF and Color (Cibachrome) Printing

Scott Demel
29-May-1999, 09:17
What is the relation of LF, color transparency and cibachrome (or other) printin g? Here's my dilemma:

I have been shooting 35mm for years and it has evolved with my personal subject interests and professional work. As an architect, I am constantly photographing buildings and other aspects of the built environment. In shooting 35mm, I alwa ys shoot slide film. This is mainly because I do not have access to or have the resources (time, money, space) to set-up a darkroom for processing/printing. W ith a slide, there is no extra hand in the process to alter the image. What I s hoot is exactly what I receive back from the lab. If I need a high quality prin t, I will have a good Cibachrome made.

Recently, I have done some 4x5 B&W work with another photographer for some histo ric building documentation. I find myself drawn to the whole process, control a nd quality possible with LF photography.

However, my real interest lies with color. I've been searching for viewpoints o n shooting LF color transparencies and having contacts or enlarged prints made f rom these but I have not seen much information. Most "die-hard" LF seems to dea l with B&W. I doubt I will do my own processing/printing. My attraction to LF is the control it offers but by not processing/printing, I am giving still givin g up control over half the photographic process... and gaining control is the wh ole reason for LF. With all of that said, what kind of results could I expect from shooting LF transparencies and having Cibachrome (or other) prints made? I s this common practice? Or am I just missing the point of LF?

Any opinions or viewpoints are welcome.

Jan erala
29-May-1999, 10:02