PDA

View Full Version : Fujinon 300C vs 300A lens

John Gavrilis
27-Mar-2012, 16:36
I own both Fujinon 300C and 300A lenses for my 4x5. The "C" (f-8.5) lens has been a great lens for me for the past 20+ years. Very sharp! Recently, a good friend & photographer passed away, leaving me with a Fujinon "A" (f-9) lens. As a landscape photographer, I'm wondering which to keep and which to sell. I had another friend say that the "A" lens is much better, but not sure in which way. The "A" lens is a bit heavier, and also requires a bit more bellows. I tested it for both near & far compositions. When looking the glass, the coating appears to be slightly different. Not sure if this means that that this will translate differently on film or not. Can someone out there help me out? For landscape work, which is better and what is the real difference? Thanks! John

Gem Singer
27-Mar-2012, 17:11
Hi John,

The Fujinon f8.5 300C ("C" stands for compact) is a 4-element lens similar to the Tessar lens formula. (Compare to the Nikon/Nikkor M series).

The Fujinon f9 300A ("A" stands for apochromatic) is a 6-element Plasmat lens formula. (Compare to the Schneider G-Claron series).

Both are mounted in Copal 1 shutters and both are EBC coated. (If the lettering is on the outside of the lens barrel, it is EBC coated).

The 300A is no longer being made and demands a much higher re-sale price.

See: www.willwilson.com/fujinon.html

Ken Lee
27-Mar-2012, 17:16
I have a 300A. It appears more infrequently.

The A series lenses represent an interesting compromise of features. They have a Plasmat-like cross-section, but open to f/9 instead of f/5.6 like most plasmats. This makes them smaller and lighter. Unlike other general-purpose lenses that are corrected for 1:10 or 1:20 distances, they are corrected for 1:5. This makes them excellent for close work as well as distance.