PDA

View Full Version : will my lens work or do I need another?

jessicadittmer
25-Mar-2012, 14:43
I've had an 8x10 camera a few years and I'm just now getting the courage to try it. It's old and wooden and unmarked (but there is a 25 on the bottom of it) Anyway, I had bought at one time an ilex shutter no. 5 for it and then a 480mm rodenstock lens (says 19in. apo-ronar on it as well). So this is the first time I've put it all together and tried to focus and I can only focus at quite a distance out. I'm more of a portrait girl but I do the occasional landscape type work. I'm wondering if I need another (wider?) lens for portrait work? I do work of hands, faces, full body type portrait. I'm very new to this so I'm researching things online as well - about focusing and things but I'm a bit lost still.
Thanks for any help you can offer.

Kevin Crisp
25-Mar-2012, 15:05
Extend the bellows all the way out, then measure from the back standard to the front and tell us the measurement.

Louis Pacilla
25-Mar-2012, 15:11
If your focusing at Portrait distance w/ a 19" lens you'll need somewhere between 25" to 30" of bellows draw. You'll need less for 3/4 portrait and more for a head and shoulder Portrait. There is a formula to figure this out but this is a approximation.

From the sounds of it your Bellows are to short for your 19" lens at Portrait distance. However It could be that you have a camera with ample bellows (like a Kodak 2d) but your missing the extension rail. This rail is critical if you wish to use all the bellows this type of camera has to offer.

Mark Sawyer
25-Mar-2012, 15:14
Better yet, put the lens on the camera, run the bellows all the way out, and see how close it focuses. It all depends on how far you can extend the bellows; the farther out they go, the closer you can focus.

And yes, you need more lenses. Lots and lots of them! :rolleyes:

Leigh
Hi Jessica,

Some basic lens info...