PDA

View Full Version : Pocket Wizard Channel Selection

Frank Petronio
23-Mar-2012, 20:16
I'm new to Pocket Wizards but picked up a couple of the IIs based on widespread reputation. But tonight I was shooting and it wasn't syncing reliably. Installed fresh batteries, tighten the PC socket, orientated the antennas and yet I still missed several shots.

Is it possible that some channels (1 to 4) are better than others in different environments? How would you go about trouble shooting these?

Peter De Smidt
23-Mar-2012, 20:28
It's usually the connectors....

How far apart were the units? Did they have line-of-sight?

I haven't noticed any difference among the channels.

Frank Petronio
23-Mar-2012, 20:42
Only about 5 feet and visible to each other. Hmm time to replace the "new" cables.

My old Quantum Radio Slaves worked more reliably but now I'll have to futz around.

Leigh
23-Mar-2012, 21:35
It's unlikely that you would experience channel-specific interference, but not impossible.

The PWIIs have four "channels", but they all share a single frequency, 344.04 MHz.
The "channel" selection just changes the 16-bit code that's transmitted (and received).
This is true of the first 16 channels used by the various PW products.

PW products with more than 16 channels available use additional frequencies.

Here's the discussion on the PW site: http://wiki.pocketwizard.com/index.php?title=Channels

- Leigh

urs0polar
23-Mar-2012, 21:43
Do the little red LEDs on the slaves light up when you press the test button on the master PW on your camera? If they do, it's probably the connectors...

Daniel Stone
24-Mar-2012, 00:05