PDA

View Full Version : close focus lens for 4x5 ?

buggz
17-Mar-2012, 18:22
Hello,
What is a good close focus lens for 4x5 ?
I am finding the Sinaron S 5.6 180mm MC is not that great for close focusing work.

buggz
17-Mar-2012, 18:52
I am now reading that this focusing limit is only a limit of the bellows.
Hmm, I'll have to do more testing...

seawolf66
17-Mar-2012, 19:19
I am now reading that this focusing limit is only a limit of the bellows.
Hmm, I'll have to do more testing...
A lot depends on what type of 4x5 you have and what the bellows extension is on it and how small can your bellows collapse :
I have a Field type 4x5 the smallest it will take is a 90mm W.A lens and the larges is 240mm That's it for my field camera
Maybe one of the other folks here will chime and explain how to figure it out for your Camera

buggz
17-Mar-2012, 19:30
Thanks for the information. I'm a newbie, but learning...
I have a Sinar f2.
I have the normal bellows, and the wide bag type bellows.
I have the regular length rail, and a 10" extension rail.

A lot depends on what type of 4x5 you have and what the bellows extension is on it and how small can your bellows collapse :
I have a Field type 4x5 the smallest it will take is a 90mm W.A lens and the larges is 240mm That's it for my field camera
Maybe one of the other folks here will chime and explain how to figure it out for your Camera

Corran
17-Mar-2012, 19:56
If you want to do macro in the usual 1:1 area (as in, the object is the same size as the projected image on the ground glass), the lens must be racked out to 2x the focal length. So for example, if you have a camera with 240mm of bellows, you need about a 120mm lens to get to 1:1. If you want to go past that, for really small objects that become bigger than "lifesize" on the ground glass, you need even more.

Does that help? What's wrong with the 180, that it isn't sharp or that you can't get a close enough? It seems like with a 10" extension rail you'd be fine...