PDA

View Full Version : Making my own 5x7 camera. HELP!

ckpj99
12-Mar-2012, 21:42
I've been shooting professionally for almost a decade. I have a degree in photojournalism, and understand the physics of light pretty well. I own too many film cameras.

That being said, I've never used anything larger than a 6x6 slr.

I started building a camera, not from different parts from major manufacturers, from wood and nails and glue. It's going to be a box camera, the type common in Cuba, India and Afghanistan. The basically have a tiny darkroom inside of them: a box of photo paper which is used as the "film," a tray of developing chemicals, and a tray of fix. You can get a lot of details on the cameras here - http://www.afghanboxcamera.com/ - if you haven't already heard of them.

I'm designing mine to shoot 5x7 piece of photo paper. I'm building everything myself except the trays and the lens. Needless to say, I have a few questions.

1) I'm thinking about mounting a 210mm lens in the camera. So my first question is this, will a typical 210mm designed for a 4x5 camera cover a 5x7? Keep in mind that my camera will have absolutely no movement. I believe most 4x5 lens account for movement. I'm asking now because I can still redesign the camera to shoot 4x6 is necessary. (Side question, is the 210mm an OK choice, I want a "normal" lens, like a 50mm on a 35mm camera)

2) These cameras have a built in copy stand. You expose the first image of your subject on photo paper which appears as a negative, then you take another exposure of that negative using a copy stand. I'm having trouble calculating two things. First, how far away copy stand must sit from the lens? It can't be too far away or too close, it needs to fill up another 5x7. Basically, I need the lens to subject distance for a 1:1 macro reproduction.