PDA

View Full Version : focusing error with fresnel lens removed

oysteroid
12-Mar-2012, 14:39
Hello! What a wonderful forum!

I hope my question hasn't been answered elsewhere.

I am new to large format photography and new to film after having started with digital cameras (hopefully a growing trend!). I recently purchased an Omega/Toyo View 45F. The Toyo back had a fresnel lens. I removed it because I found the circles problematic. The image on the GG now looks much better. I am mostly using a 210mm Schneider Apo-Symmar, so I don't think the fresnel is necessary, but I do also have an old 90mm Angulon and a 135mm Xenar that I intend to use at some point. The question is whether or not I will get focusing errors now that I removed the fresnel lens. Should I put it back? If it makes any difference, the fresnel lens was between the lens and GG, right against the GG.

Thank you!

Bob Salomon
12-Mar-2012, 14:59
If the Fresnel was between the gg and the lens you will have a shift. If it is between your eye and the gg you won't have a shift.

Do some tilts and swings with your 210 and you may find dark areas of the gg that will benefit from the Fresnel.
If you are seeing the rings then you have not focused your loupe on the grain side of the gg. If you haven't done that then you should.

oysteroid
12-Mar-2012, 20:21
Thanks, Bob!

I put the fresnel back in. It is a plastic fresnel lens and is slightly bowed. It mounts a slight distance from the GG, but bows in and touches the GG in the center. Does this seem normal? If not, might it cause any problems?

Jim Jones
12-Mar-2012, 20:37
I believe it will be fine.

oysteroid
13-Mar-2012, 07:57
Thanks!

Jim Noel
13-Mar-2012, 08:18
It makes a difference which way the fresnel faces. It sounds like you may have the ridges toward the lens,which is backwards.

Louis Pacilla
13-Mar-2012, 08:24
It makes a difference which way the Fresnel faces. It sounds like you may have the ridges toward the lens,which is backwards.