PDA

View Full Version : Wista hood - help needed

p.87
1-Mar-2012, 12:57
Hello,

Been a long time lurker on this forum, especially lately. I'm a photography student and have been using large format more and more lately. Enough to buy my first 5x4 camera, a Wista 45. I managed to get one fairly cheap on ebay, as it had no focussing hood. The camera arrived today and I realised that I definitely need something there to protect the glass. At the moment I'm scared to actually shoot with it incase the glass breaks while in my camera bag.

Ive found that they are only sold in one place it seems, B&H, in America (Im in the UK). Plus, its $200 which I can't really spare at the moment.

Here's my question; Is there a cheaper alternative? I've seen some generic hoods on ebay from China, for Linhof cameras, and they go for £60. If there was one for a Wista I'd definitely get it, but there isn't. So does anyone know of anyone or anywhere which may sell one, a Wista branded one or not.

Any help would be very much appreciated!

Thanks

Gem Singer
1-Mar-2012, 13:22
Assuming that you are referring to a folding focusing hood for a Wista 4x5 camera (which also serves as a ground glass protector).

You can obtain a ground glass protector for a 4x5 camera from Midwest Photo Exchange. Made of Plexiglas, these protectors are very efficient. They protect both sides of the GG and are not expensive compared to a folding focusing hood.

www.mpex.com

Ari
1-Mar-2012, 13:26
I have a Rittreck metal hood; it's in poor shape, and needs a lot of work to make it into a functional piece again.
But to use it for GG protection would require less work.
I don't mind sending it to you for the cost of shipping, just PM me.

wmsey
1-Mar-2012, 14:07