PDA

View Full Version : Working fast with a copal shutter?

atorger
29-Feb-2012, 04:59
I'm currently in the looking-around-phase, moving to "large format" digital (really cropped medium format, 36x48mm). Linhof Techno seems like a good platform in that case, and can start off with 6x7 MF film before I get my paws on a good second hand MFDB deal. Anyway I have not operated a large format camera before so I'm a complete newbie and try to gather as lot of information as possible in advance.

Electronic shutters are very expensive, say $1800 per lens or so, so I'd rather use the much cheaper Copal shutters. Less weight and no batteries is a plus too.

With a digital back, it would be nice to do HDR and stitching and other composite images in some situations. What I wonder is if that is doable with a manual shutter, or if you need so much force changing settings and cocking that it is hard not to disturb the camera position when operating the shutter between shots. I know there are self-cocking shutters, but I don't think time is much of a problem (3-4 seconds between shots is ok), and I still would need to change shutter speed.

Say a workflow like this:
1. set shutter speed to 1/400, cock shutter, take a shot
2. set shutter speed to 1/100, cock shutter, take a shot
3. set shutter speed to 1/25, cock shutter, take a shot

That is taking a HDR-series of shots in fairly quick succession without disturbing the camera too much.

I've never operated a copal shutter in my hands, just some ancient compur shutter which is quite tough to change shutter speed -- you need quite a lot of force. I'm hoping that a modern copal shutter has a bit smoother controls...

What do you think? Can you work (reasonably) fast and do "multi shots" with a copal shutter without disturbing the camera? Or would you need an extremely heavy camera that sits in place regardless how much force you need for operating the shutter controls?

B.S.Kumar
29-Feb-2012, 05:22