PDA

View Full Version : Shen-Hao Ground Glass

rince
13-Feb-2012, 12:36
Hi,

I finally got my Shen-Hao 4x5 and I am excited to dip my feet into LF photography. Even though I am absolutely excited about my first LF camera, there is one thing that bothers me a tiny bit. The GG seems to be really dark and a little hard to focus. I was wondering if you can recommend a different GG or a fresnel lens, to make it a bit brighter. At the moment even under the darkcloth it is very hard to see. When using the loupe it is a little better though. Since I am an absolute newbie when it comes to LF, I was wondering if this is normal and just the way it is, or if there is something I can do to improve this.

Thank you very much in advance and sorry if this is a stupid question
Kindest regards
Dennis

Lachlan 717
13-Feb-2012, 14:33
What lens/lenses are you using?

A decent fresnel will certainly improve the image, as, too, will a Steve Hopf, Yankee et al after-market GG.

Erik Larsen
13-Feb-2012, 16:17
Just to be sure, are you focussing with lens wide open?
Regards
Erik

genotypewriter
13-Feb-2012, 21:12
It's not easy... especially in bright daylight. A Bender helmet usually helps :D

Light Guru
13-Feb-2012, 21:42
Just to be sure, are you focussing with lens wide open?

that's my bet. The lens is probably stopped down.

rince
13-Feb-2012, 23:17
Thank you for your answers. Yes, I figured out to open up the lens and not trying to focus stopped down, but still it is hard for me to see. As soon as the darkcloth is not pulled tight around the camera, I basically don't see anything. The center of the image is ok, the corners nearly invisible.

I am using a 150mm lens for now.

IanG
14-Feb-2012, 02:02
The center of the image is ok, the corners nearly invisible.

That's why many of use a fresnel screen.

I've just found a back for my Super Graphic and with a new glass screen and the fresnel that came with the back it's possible to focus easily without a darkcloth - with the Graphics hood.