PDA

View Full Version : Mounting, Framing Without Gass.....??

Frank Lahorgue
24-Nov-2003, 18:04
I thoroughly dislike mounting my B&W prints with glass, non-glare or otherwise. Glazing detracts from an otherwise luminous print and reflections are bothersome. But...

After mounting with no glass, the overmat-print-mounting board sandwich seems to bow outward after a few months or the window overmat separates from the mat. Does anyone have a workable solution to this problem?

TIA

John Cook
24-Nov-2003, 18:23
Funny you should ask. I am contemplating putting up some ledges around the house and filling them with prints. My wife gets the Pottery Barn catalogue.

Rather than doing the glass, mat and frame thing, I have been pondering the “artist’s studio” approach. Got my eye on wet-mounting glue from Light Impressions and imitation canvas boards from Dick Blick.

Can’t decide on the coating to make them washable. Krylon spray lacquer is a possibility. As a woodworker, I am also considering my homemade brew of extra-blond shellac flakes. It doesn’t yellow with age, you know.

I’m sure the archival police have already stepped into the bathroom to wretch at these methods. But I consider display prints to be semi-disposable. I coddle only the original negatives.

Robert A. Zeichner
24-Nov-2003, 18:26