PDA

View Full Version : color LF

armentor1@mac.com
9-Feb-2012, 08:29
hello all,

I plan on extending a project that I'm working on to include LF color images. I'd like the end result to be prints sized at 20x24 or above. As I have very little experience with the color film process I was hoping to get recommendations on e6 vs. c41 and any filters I may need. The lighting conditions in the spaces are strange; interiors are often lit with tungsten, florescent and daylight. The capture will be scanned in and printed digitally. I'm solely using 4x5 with a 210 symmar.

Please see my website below for examples of the lighting - its illustrated in the
"After the Harvest" portfolio.

www.thesugarmillsessions.com

Thanks in advance -
dave

sully75
9-Feb-2012, 08:57
Not an answer to the question you were asking, but if it were me I'd be all over this with digital. Much easier to do color adjustments after the fact, much easier to get stuff right in camera. Probably cheaper if you already have the camera.

Just saying. I have very limited experience with color film, but find that I really like the results in really easy lighting situations, Portra has a look that's pretty unique and hard to match with digital. But I still end up screwing up easy color shots. Shooting something with mixed lighting with color film, I'm just not smart enough to do that.

YMMV.

armentor1@mac.com
9-Feb-2012, 09:15
That would be a much easier route to take but my digital equipment is very dated and can not handle the shadow detail nor would I get the desired resolution without spending tons of $$.

d

rdenney
9-Feb-2012, 09:32
The most detailed method for handling mixed lighting is to separately expose the subject under each light source using the correct filter. This is not easy to do in most real situations, especially in space is lit by lots of daylight, which can't be turned off easily.