PDA

View Full Version : Do you use Digital?

Jim Billlups
20-Nov-2003, 20:42
Just curious...

Are you, and to what extent if any, are you incorporating digital technology into your large format work?

Tony Galt
20-Nov-2003, 20:51
I use film, but scan transparencies and negatives with an Epson Perfection 2450 for printing. I do develop black and white negatives myself.

David R Munson
20-Nov-2003, 21:51
All my color work, if I want prints, is scanned and output digitally on my Epson 1280. I'll use digital for anything that needs retouching or that needs to be incorporated in some manner of composite. Other than that I scan things for my site. Outside of things that fall into that second category or things that are for publishing, I still print all my B&W in a darkroom.

QT Luong
20-Nov-2003, 23:15
As a color photographer, I've been printing using exclusively the Tango drum scanner and the Lightjet for more than five years.

John Cook
21-Nov-2003, 06:04
If I were still in business, my clients would force me to do color. If I did color, it would all be digital, including capture. An in-house lab is a nightmare, and there are no decent commercial labs within 50 miles of my studio.

As my work is now limited to personal wall-hangers, I am shooting 100% B&W film and wet printing (as I have always done). Just my personal taste, but a large room full of color prints reminds me a little too much of a travel agency or McDonald's menu board.

Anyway, I’m much too old to spend long hours and big bucks chasing the latest trendy technology. Only to have it obsolete and worthless even before I have mastered the two-thousand-page instruction manual. I'll just continue doing what I know.

Short answer: put down one vote for zero digital. Not even a cheap scanner.

Bruce Watson
21-Nov-2003, 08:15
4x5 Tri-X, XTOL 1:3, Jobo CPP2 and Expert 3010 drum.

I do my own drum scans on an Optronix ColorGetter 3 Pro. Photoshop.