PDA

View Full Version : 8x10 Questions

Michael Gaillard
17-Jan-2012, 12:54
I have been using 4x5s for the past 12 years or so, and have been considering purchasing an 8x10 for some time now. I think the time has finally come.

In pursuit of the right camera, I have been searching all the used sites and have noticed a wide array of sinars, a good amount of deardorffs, and some Cambo's as well. The rest are either new or incredibly expensive.

I'm also finding that most of the cameras that I found in excellent condition are often almost as expensive, if not equal or more than the prices of some seemingly great new cameras.

The top of my price range is probably around 2000, but I do see that many of the cameras being made these days (specifically Chamonix, Tachihara) are about 800 or so more than that.

Part of me thinks it is worth it to get one of the new ones, as it will be fully functional... although another part of me thinks a Sinar F2 would be a good bet because I would always be able to find replacement parts. I saw a couple Philips on ebay, but I'm concerned about not being able to rotate the back for verticals.

I shoot an equal amount inside and outside, and don't do a ton of hiking with the camera, so weight isn't of extreme importance. More important is rigidity, as I often shoot in heavy winds.

I am also looking for a great geared tripod for the 8x10... I've had the Manfrotto 405 Pro with a Gitzo G1325... which has been great for my 4x5, but I don't think it would suffice for the 8x10.

Any suggestions or advice would be much appreciated.

Ari
17-Jan-2012, 13:35
I had a great Toyo G 8x10, it cost under $1000 and was an amzing camera, and a pleasure to use.
If you're looking at monorails, it's a great value and great modular camera system, based on the venerable Sinar Norma line.

William Whitaker
17-Jan-2012, 14:22
Michael,