PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum

Louie Devincentis
16-Jan-2012, 06:57
Hi Everyone, I am new to the forum. I sat on the side lines for awhile and decided to join after seeing the wealth of knowledge on this forum. I've enjoyed photography all my life, I built my 1st darkroom when I was 15yrs old and I enjoyed developing B&W film unfortunately I had to stop because it became too expensive(some of you might remember the mid 70's when silver started to go through the roof) and now that I am older and have more time and a few more $$$$$. I've just completed my latest darkroom and purchased a 35mm Canon camera, a Mamiya RB67 and now I am looking for a large format camera which I have never used one before. There are 2 cameras that I am looking at, the Graflex Crown Grafic 4x5 and the Toyo 45c. I am looking guidance on the pros and cons to both of these two cameras. Looking forward to the replies from this forum. Thanks

BrianShaw
16-Jan-2012, 07:50
Welcome to the forum, Louie.

chassis
16-Jan-2012, 07:56
Welcome Louie, this has been a great site for me to take my photography to the next level.

TheDeardorffGuy
16-Jan-2012, 10:22
The 45C is a View Camera and the Graphic is not. The 45c has movements to correct perspective and depth of field. The Graphic has limited movements. It was designed as a handheld camera. The only thing they both have in common is a big negative.
Get the 45c it looks cooler, more knobs and things that move.

Jim Jones
16-Jan-2012, 11:05