PDA

View Full Version : Understanding Soft Focus and Sharp fall-off

ewood
14-Jan-2012, 16:45
I just purchased a Calumet 8x10 camera and now I need to buy a lens. I'm new to film and new to large format so I'm reading as much as I can and filling in the gaps with posts to this forum.

I would like to do close up portraits (waist level and up) and I want a very sharp focus with very short depth of field and a sharp fall-off. Now, by this I mean that I would like to compose and setup a shot (indoors...in my home since I'm a hobbyist still) where I can have the subjects eyes in very sharp focus and have the hair, ears, neckline, etc quite noticeably out of focus.

I'm trying to select the right lens for this application (tight spaces, portrait lens, wide aperature on an 8x10). And obviously I would need a lens board so if I find a Copal #3 lens that suits my needs and budget then can I just buy any Copal #3 lens board and it will work with my camera? I'm still trying to navigate all of this. I'm doing more reading tonight. :)

Thanks in advance for anyone willling to help.
Cheers,
Eric

eddie
14-Jan-2012, 16:54
most very short DOF lenses (f3) will not fit on the 6x6 lens board AND cover 8x10. do you have a reducing back to 5x7? if so you can easily get what you want.

if not keep an eye out for the many f4.5 lenses that will cover 8x10. they include heliar. a 360 would be perfect. there are others too. the various tessar lenses will work as well. many are f4.5

none of the above are "soft focus" but they will give you sharp centers with excellent fall off.

eddie

Jon Shiu
14-Jan-2012, 16:57
You have to buy a lens board that fits your specific model of camera. For example Calumet 8x10 can mean a C-1, or it can mean a Calumet Cambo type, which takes a different type of lens board.

Assuming you have a Cambo type, you would want either a Calumet (or Cambo) 8x10, board with two notches at the top.

Jon

Gem Singer
14-Jan-2012, 17:26