PDA

View Full Version : Importance of lensboard size on tilts and swings with W.A. lenses

Jean-Louis Llech
4-Nov-2003, 04:24
Hello,
Many people do not recommend a Linhof Master Technika for wide angle photography, considering it allows poor movements with wide angle lenses, mainly because of the lack of flexibility of the compressed bellows.

I have been using my Master Technika for several years with wide angle lenses, for architecture and landscape. I always enjoy using it, "even" with Super-Angulon lenses.

Even if I recognize that the Technika is probably not the best camera for W.A. use, I consider that another important factor is the size of the lensboard.
Several view cameras, Sinar, Arca, Toyo, Linhof... use very large lensboards (110 to 171 mm).

If we do not only take into account the thickness and flexibility of the bellows in wide angle position, it is a basic geometry question :

Wide angle lenses have a short flange focal distance : 69.3mm for a SA-XL 5.6/58, 82.2mm for a SA-XL 5.6/72, 102.8mm for a SA-XL 5.6/90.
When applying tilts or swings to the lensboard, with so short focal distances, a large lensboard will hit more rapidly the rear standard than a smaller one, and will allow a narrower tilt or swing angle.
If a 30° swing can be applied with a small lensboard (96x99mm), the swing or tilt will be limited to 15-20° with a 171x171mm lensboard, not by bellows limitation, but by large standards and lensboards preventing the movement.

So am I wrong when I consider that cameras with small lensbords and tapered bellows (4x5" on rear standard and 6x9 on front standard like Arca-Swiss) are more convenient for wide angle use ?

I would appreciate your opinion.
Regards
JLL

Huib
4-Nov-2003, 06:13
Jean-Lious,

at such short focal length one often has to use recessed lensboards anyway and than the large lensboard is less of a problem.

Huib

Ernest Purdum
4-Nov-2003, 07:15