PDA

View Full Version : Reasonably priced tripod head for Sinar F+

Leszek Vogt
25-Dec-2011, 23:23
I'm a noob here. I'm in the process of purchasing Sinar F+, but the tripod head is not included. Are there any 3rd-party outfit/s that make these things...or am I forced to make my own ? Would appreciate the help. Thanks.

Les

rdenney
26-Dec-2011, 16:03
I'm a noob here. I'm in the process of purchasing Sinar F+, but the tripod head is not included. Are there any 3rd-party outfit/s that make these things...or am I forced to make my own ? Would appreciate the help. Thanks.

Les

The tripod adapter that clamps to the Sinar rail will mount on any head, if the quick-release plate is large enough. The Bogen hex plate is big enough (barely) and Arca-Swiss-type plates that are large enough are easy to get. The adapter has a 3/8-16 thread, same as tripod heads and so-called Euro threads. So, you'll need a quick-release plate with a 3/8" screw, which is readily available. I would not recommend a bushing to allow the use of a 1/4" thread--the typical size for small cameras.

The very best tripod head for the Sinar is the Sinar tilt-head. It is not cheap even used (typically a little over $200), simply because it works so well that people pay the price for one. Every other option is no better than a distant second.

But a Bogen 3047 head is plenty stout enough, and it uses the hex plate which is just big enough for the Sinar tripod adapter. If you need a real tripod head and have only a little money, this is the best option. These heads will mount on any tripod legs that have removable heads. Don't skimp on the legs.