PDA

View Full Version : Sinar F+ and two Schneider lenses

Leszek Vogt
25-Dec-2011, 23:04
Howdy,

I'm the noob here and after using a 4x5 about 37 yrs ago, I decided to take a plunge. I could use little handholding on this. Anyway, I found this Sinar F+, Schneider 210/5.6 and Schneider 90/8 + many film holders, case, trig release for $600. It seems like a reasonable price. I would appreciate some input as to the price, and some specifics as to what I should be looking for during the purchase transaction. I'd prefer to take few test shots (have blk bag) and process them before I commit to the equipment.

For time being I'll be using it as B&W camera, since I can't get the quality that I desire out of my D700....and will progress from there.

I'd appreciate any thoughts or additional comments you can give me. Thanks in advance.http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/images/smilies/confused.gif

Les

Leigh
25-Dec-2011, 23:33
Pay attention to the shutters on the lenses. They should be Copals. If they're Compurs the lenses are too old.

Different vintages of Copal shutters can be distinguished by the color of the speed set rim (and other features).
The latest version has a black rim, the same color as the rest of the shutter. The previous version has a bright aluminum (silver) rim.

Earlier shutters are certainly usable, but may require service before they work reliably.

Here's a list of serial numbers and dates on the Schneider site: http://www.schneideroptics.com/info/age_of_lenses/

On the Sinar camera, take a look at the levels. There is a chronic problem with them drying out or breaking off.

- Leigh

Frank Petronio
26-Dec-2011, 00:29
However late model black Compurs were the best shutters ever made. They were Mercedes quality to Copal's Toyota.

And my vintage Schneiders in "too old" Compurs are what I use in preference to newer lenses.