PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with Pyro HD, TMX and Jobo 3006

tschoenb
23-Dec-2011, 13:44
Long time lurker here... I have soaked up a ton of information from you all and would first like to thank you for such a wonderful community and resource.

I just finished setting up my new darkroom and am now preparing to run my film tests. I have things tentatively planned but still have a few questions (I've never used the Jobo or Pyro before.)

What rotation speed should I set the Jobo to? With reversal?
Pyro HD dilution for diffusion head elargement 1:1 or 1:2 or 2:2?
I have a 3006 tank, will 450ml (75ml per sheet) work?
When I load the tank, the emulsion side should face inward?
How do I keep track of which negative is which ASA?

Processing for EI:
- presoak for 2 min (Should I be using distilled water here? Should this be done with agitation?)
- developer (What is a good starting time with Pyro HD and TMX at 68`F? 8 min? 9 min?)
- stop bath (water or stop bath? for 1 minute. Should this be done with agitation?)
- fix (TF4 fix for 6 minutes)
- after bath (Gordon Hutchings recommended soaking back in the PMK developer to maximize image stain; is this relevant with HD formulations?)
- wash (what do you do for washing with the Jobo?)
- wetting agent (what do you use and how do you use it in a Jobo?)

For the EI I am looking for .1-.2 above FB+F with the blue filter on the densitometer correct?

Any other tips before I get started?

Thanks in advance,
Todd

Robert Ley
23-Dec-2011, 17:35
Todd,
Here are my answers to your questions, others may disagree:
Use the slowest rotation speed, on my CPA it is 3
You are really going to have to run some tests, but 1:1 or 2:2 will work with different times of course. I found with the new Tmax 400 and Pyrocat HD my times are 10min at 2:2:100 at 24degC and of course your times my vary. You can get good ball park starting time here: http://www.digitaltruth.com/devchart.php