PDA

View Full Version : Sales Tax Horror Stories

Frank Petronio
20-Dec-2011, 01:07
If only it was Halloween.

I'm particularly interested in hearing your sales tax horror stories from being a part-time or semi-professional photographer, extra points for New Yorkers.

Black Lightning
20-Dec-2011, 08:46
Well, I am an accountant With a practice in New York. I don't have any horror stories of my own. Clients of mine, that's a different story. Sales tax problems are why many of my clients came to me in the first place. I have kept a few of them from going to jail.

BrianShaw
20-Dec-2011, 10:08
Sales tax in CA needs to be paid in terms of sales per county (tax rate can vary by county) - a major book keeping PIA when I had a business because we couldn't afford an accountant to do that for us. Other than that it was quite straight forward.

eddie
20-Dec-2011, 10:22
ny is done quarterly. you better get em done before the end of Dec.

what sucks the most about NY is that if you sell to some one in a different area you must collect that tax (just like brian says above). so if rochester tax is not 8% like it is here in ulster county then you would collect 8% from me as i am in UC. that is the PITA of it all.

if you collect less than $3000 (so $40,000 in sales) in one year you do not have to file quarterly....BUT you must file quarterly for teh 1st year....then you can file once per year after that.

hope this helps.

have fun with the tax man.

eddie

Richard Wasserman
20-Dec-2011, 10:56
I had a wholesale business and one of my customers unbeknownst to us let his resale number lapse. We were audited by the state who found the problem. Between the penalties, interest, and the formula they used to assess how much we owed them (5 years worth) they hurt us significantly. They then of course went after my customer for nonpayment of taxes.

Kirk Gittings
20-Dec-2011, 11:19