PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question - Chamonix 5x4

rossomck
16-Dec-2011, 02:42
I am a complete newbie, preparing to buy a Chamonix 5x4 camera. My query relates to lenses. What do I need to look for? In other words, do I need to buy a lens AND a lens board, or do the LF lenses come already with a lens board? Does the chamonix camera come with a lens board, and if so, are these universal fit etc etc. I see people referring to 'linhof' boards and 'sinar' boards but this means nothing to me....!

I will probably be looking at wide lenses like 90mm and possibly slightly wider.
Thanks for any help.

Michael E
16-Dec-2011, 03:20
LF lenses have a great advantage: They don't have a proprietary mount, they can basically be mounted on any camera. You just need a board with a hole in it. If you buy a (used) lens on a board, or lens and board separately, is up to you. Boards are not standardized, but some sizes are used by several manufacturers. Chamonix uses Linhof Technika style boards for small cameras and (bigger) Sinar style boards for big cameras. You need the Linhof boards. You can buy generic boards, Chamonix boards, Linhof boards - or simply make them yourself. If you are using very short lenses, you might need recessed lens boards. Short lenses have to be very close to the film/ground glass, and sometimes the bellows or camera can't be compressed enough. Recessed lens boards place the lens a few mm inside the camera. A 90mm lens should be fine on a normal board.

Michael

Matus Kalisky
16-Dec-2011, 04:45
Rossomck, first of all - welcome to the LFF! :)

I suppose you are new to large format, but probably not new to photography.