PDA

View Full Version : An appearance suggestion with an example.

Severi Salminen
17-Oct-2003, 02:31
Sorry for making a second post (this'll be the last whatever the "decision" ;), but I appreciate if you even check the layout example I made - to avoid confusions on what I actually meant. The change is very, very minor but improves the readibility greatly and is very easy to implement. I simply added an author column. I also vote for keeping things as simple and unchanged as possible (as opposed to what photo.net now did), but this change definitely would not make things worse.

http://webusers.siba.fi/~ssalmine/largeformatphotography.info.htm (http://webusers.siba.fi/~ssalmine/largeformatphotography.info.htm)

Thanks for patience,

Frank Petronio
17-Oct-2003, 04:03
I like Severi's idea. FWIW I'm a web designer and his thinking is right on.

David A. Goldfarb
17-Oct-2003, 06:48
That's not what it sounded like in the original post. I think it would be a good change.

Sidney Cammeresi
17-Oct-2003, 07:22
Is it really necessary to restrict the table width to 80% of the browser window? I want to use all of my monitor, not just 80%.

Ken Lee
17-Oct-2003, 07:58
I suggest that the top of the page chould more closely resemble the bottom of the page: The links like "Recent Topics", "New Responses", etc. are in a small font. There is no need for those same links, at the top of the page, to be so huge. A little smaller would still be readable !

jerry brodkey
17-Oct-2003, 08:07
The "posted" and "last reply" are still too close together.

Severi Salminen
17-Oct-2003, 08:16
Here is a new example, where:

1. Full screen width is used everywhere
2. The links are rearranged so that they are in more logical places. This is not the final version, just a suggestion. I think the "Ask a New Question" is the most frequently used link so that should be clearly visible. Other links are also now grouped more properly.