PDA

View Full Version : NOOBIE: Century 10a barn find...need thoughts.

wrightsteel
5-Dec-2011, 15:59
Hi folks, first timer here....

I wound up hauling off an elephant of a camera from a local woodworkers barn. From what I can gather it is a 8x10 Century 10a (folmer and schwing) w/ semi-centennial stand . I also gather that I have a 4x5 rotating back. The lens is a Schenider Symmar 210/5.6 - 420/12.

The goal is to get this camera working again for a long-term portrait project, but I have no clue where to begin or what I have.

Check the pics for a better look.

a couple of questions:

If I want to go to 8x10 where do I get the back, are there third party options?

What lenses and shutters can I use? The lens board is recessed, I assume to better utilize the 4x5.

Anything else you folks can tell me about this camera to get me in a place to use it in the studio?

Would love to hear about your experiences.

Thanks for taking the time to help a total noobie out.

Cheers, -matt

goamules
5-Dec-2011, 16:07
Hi Matt, welcome to a fun project and a usable camera.

If I want to go to 8x10 where do I get the back, are there third party options?
No 3rd party, but Kodak 2D backs will often fit. Or look for a Century, Graflex, Folmer, Eastman studio camera back, they are all about the same.

What lenses and shutters can I use? The lens board is recessed, I assume to better utilize the 4x5.
The sky's the limit. You can research this board for any number of combinations. At any price.

Anything else you folks can tell me about this camera to get me in a place to use it in the studio?

Would love to hear about your experiences.

Do some searching on this board on "Century" or "Studio" or whatever, they are posted often. Restorations, et al.

BradS
6-Dec-2011, 10:16