PDA

View Full Version : Weird spotting on Tri-X-Part II

Guy Boily
10-Oct-2003, 10:58
I exposed some Tri-X last winter. Temperature is around -25C but I've been doing this for sometime now. Exposed the sheet film, as usual, using the Zone system and developed in HC-110, as usual. I've been using the same technique for 8 years. After developing the sheets I noticed some weird spotting on the negs. Upon closer examination it looked as if the emulsion was sort of crackled. It makes me think of a frozen lake when the water level suddenly drops and the ice breaks and folds over the protruding rocks underneath. I exposed about 10 sheets and only 3 have the spots, randomly distributed. I had sent some negs to Kodak 6 months ago and I guess they lost them!! Are there any theories out their besides ET's. I am including 2 shots. One is part of the original neg and the spotting is center right. The other is a cropped portion. Thank you for your precious comments. http://www.guyboily.com/tri-x-spot.htm Guy Boily

Alan Davenport
10-Oct-2003, 11:53
Wild guess: perhaps the film had been in humid conditions earlier, then when it was chilled to -25°C, there was enough moisture in the emulsion to freeze and reticulate the film?

Steve J Murray
10-Oct-2003, 12:25
Judging by the look of things, they are either what Alan suggested, or a small gathering of "ectoplasmic" critters from the astral plane, or extraterrestrial organisms, in which case, what out! They may be infectious. ;)

Tom Westbrook
10-Oct-2003, 20:25
I would guess that it is static discharge. Air is very dry at sub-freezing temps, and static gets to be a big problem. Be sure to move holders & dark slides slowly in low temp situations. Also static build-up from clothing you wear can be a problem, too (like a synthetic jacket rubbing against a wool sweater). Just a guess, though.

Doremus Scudder
11-Oct-2003, 02:40
Tom,