PDA

View Full Version : What is a fresnel lens?

lmlmlm
26-Nov-2011, 00:14
I have been using LF for a couple of years now, but still am having trouble understanding what do some photographers use fresnels for?

I did a lot of searching around, but all i can find is stuff related to its placement, in front or behind the GG, but nobody seems to explain why they use it. What is the purpose?

Or is that fresnel screen? Is there a difference? What do these things even look like? :)

Kindly appreciated.
Thanks!

Leigh
26-Nov-2011, 00:24
A fresnel lens is a regular plano-convex lens that's been reduced in thickness across its width.

This is done by profiling the angle of the convex face as a series of concentric rings, each with the surface angle corresponding to that portion of a real lens.

Fresnel lenses are commonly used to increase the apparent brightness of a ground glass image by focusing the light toward the viewer.

- Leigh

Emmanuel BIGLER
26-Nov-2011, 00:34
Hello from France

The name comes from the famous French physicist Augustin Fresnel, one of the pioneers in optics in the XIX-st century. He designed a famous lens system for lighthouses. He proved that you could efficiently focus light by using only a fractionof the weight of a positive glass lens element.

A Fresnel lens acts exactly like a thin positive lens element of very large diameter.
You can design a Fresnel lens with a diameter bigger than to its focal length. With a classical glass lens this would be either impossible or impractical.

Fresnel lens are added to ground glasses in many cameras where you can have access to an optical image.
The purpose of the Fresnel lens is to bend slanted rays toward your eyes so that the corners of the ground glass appear as bright as the centre of the field.
On a large format view camera or a field camera, the Fresnel lens is very useful for standard and wide-angle lenses. For long focal lengths, it is less useful.