PDA

View Full Version : What's this old lens?

Keytarjunkie
24-Nov-2011, 12:59
Hi! I'm a relative newbie, I shoot a bit of 4x5 but I use mostly modern equipment and have never dealt with wet plates etc. before although I would like to one day.

My dad got this lens from my uncle who purchased it at some estate sale years ago (or something like that...), it is labelled "A.J. Thompson & Co. Importers, Boston." Or maybe it's A.T.? Can't tell. It has a focus knob which works well, and the lens board is roughly 5.5" square. No aperture or shutter (I assume this is how old lenses work, you uncover them when you want to make the picture?). It has lots of dust inside but overall it's in good shape. The lens hood's rings appear to be 58mm as the hood fits on my mamiya 7 80mm lens. What is this lens? Is it worth hanging onto?

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7026/6396076815_dc66c067da_z.jpg

Steven Tribe
24-Nov-2011, 14:37
A.T. Thompson.
There is an earlier thread with questions answered on an almost identical magic lantern projection lens. Search using Thompson.

Jim Noel
25-Nov-2011, 09:32
It is a projection lens. It may produce very interesting images. Slow film and/or neutral density filters will enable you to use your hat, or lens cap, or dark slide as a shutter. With a little practice you can use a Galli shutter. Search for Jim GAlli here or on the web.

Keytarjunkie
26-Nov-2011, 19:14
Thanks guys! I found the old thread. Your help is much appreciated. I think I will see if I can trade it for something more useful on our FS forums; I just don't see myself having the time or money to shoot wet plates while I'm still in school.

Keytarjunkie
26-Nov-2011, 19:47
By the way, does anyone have any idea what something like this would be worth? The other thread pinpoints it all the way down to between $100 and $600 ;)

jackpie
26-Nov-2011, 20:35