PDA

View Full Version : What's you favourite developer for FP4+

Aaron_3437
6-Oct-2003, 06:48
I've used Tri X with HC110 for some years and had been pleased with the result. As Tri X is no longer available in my area, I've had to switched to FP4+ developing with D76(1:1). I must say I'm not happy with the FP4+/D76 combination. The prints from Tri X seem to have a "presence of light" that I find lacking in FP4+. I hope people here understands what I'm talking about (I'm not technically inclined so I hope I'm not talking rubbish). So for those who are using FP4+ with great success, please tell me which developer is best for this film and why. Can I get the "light" in FP4+ as I did for Tri X? Or do I change a different film altogether. Thanks.

Carl Weese
6-Oct-2003, 06:58
First, you'll find you need to give FP4 a lot more exposure to get it to mimic the "light" you found pleasing in Tri-X. I've found that ei. 32 with reduced development is needed to open the shadows with this film in normal developers. It also has something of a hair-trigger development response, so plus and minus developments are more needed and more critical than with many other films. The best solution to all this that I've found is to use PMK pyro developer. The speed actually increases to about ei 64 and the tonal range is much smoother and more accepting of varied luminance ranges.---Carl

George Hart
6-Oct-2003, 07:05
Aaron: I suspect that you could get as many different replies as there are people using this film! FWIW I am happy with the tonality of FP4+ in 1:1 Perceptol, which I prefer over D76/ID-11. Approx 8 min at 20 degC works well in my setup.

tim atherton
6-Oct-2003, 07:09
out of interest aaron, where are you that you can't get tri-x now?

Robert Lowe
6-Oct-2003, 08:23
I've had excellent negatives from FP4+ using HC-110 dil B. Currently, I've been using ILFOLSOL S with pleasing results.

Aaron_3437
6-Oct-2003, 08:28