PDA

View Full Version : Worst Prints Ever! Any ideas???

Brent Long
16-Nov-2011, 21:40
I just printed my first print with Epson's Ultra Premium Presentation Matte paper, and I must say, it wasn't even close to what I had on my monitor. In fact, it wasn't even close to being close.

Now, I'm using the correct profile, am not a total newbie to printing with an inkjet (PX-5600, Japanese version of R2880), and usually get much, much better prints, even when I'm not trying. I can print without color management through the Linux Cups system and get closer. My monitor is calibrated, an older IPS from Dell (needs replacing but it's not that bad).

Let me run down how I printed initially and, hopefully, some of you kind and knowledgeable people can pick apart what, I assume, is user error (because it almost always is . . .).

1.) I edited the photo in PS CS (yep, first version of CS still), had several adjustment layers, etc.

2.) Merged as many layers as I was comfortable with, while leaving the underlying base image untouched. Nothing changed upon these merges; I always carefully check that the image remains as it should when flattening/merging adjustment layers.

3.) Saved the TIFF with the layers, at 360 dpi (but not resampled).

4.) Opened the image inside QImage, told it to print it to 13x19 (little less actually as I don't like the stretching that happens with printing borderless).

5.) Told QImage to let the print driver handle the color (image has embedded AdobeRGB1998 profile).

6.) Told the driver to print 1440x1440, Level 4 (which I've preferred with previous Epsons over the Level 5), choosing Photo Matte Paper/Pigment as Media Type (best option available with the PX-5600 driver), ***AdobeRGB1998 Input Profile, Relative Colorometric Intent, and SPR2880 UPrmMtte SprPhto.icc profile through the advanced ICM settings.